RTC Policy Finder

Local Option – Rural Renewable Energy Development Zones

In Oregon, cities and counties can set up Rural Renewable Energy Development Zones. Within these zones, commercial renewable energy properties are eligible for a 3-5 year local property tax exemption. Renewable technologies include geothermal, solar thermal, biomass, and “other unconventional forms of energy to generate electricity.” The program supports the electrification of thermal energy.

Policy Type:

Sunset Date:

Date Updated: